Trips

I didn’t update my blog for a while and I missed the blogging and the cooking for all these weeks. I replaced them with my other favourite activity – travelling.

 First I went back home to Romania. I really love this place, gives me so much energy, it reminds me of who I am and somehow I always get back optimistic and happy.

And every time I go back there is a little culinary experience to enjoy. This time was a delicious BBQ that included chicken, pork meat and some delicious traditional sausages called Carnati de Plescoi. The recipe for these sausages is kind of national best kept secret. The sausages are so spicy and rich that you really need to cool down with some nice local red wine :-).  

After the trip to Romania I had to go to Oslo and Paris, both of them great culinary experiences. In both places I had great fish dishes, so back home I got inspired and I cooked some fish again.

tuna with wasabi flavoured potato puree, asparagus tips, red beet and white carrot chips 

fresh tuna steak

4-5 asparagus tips

4-5 potatoes

one red beet

white and orange carrot

Start by boiling the potatoes for the puree. Mash them and strain them to make sure there are no lumps left in it. Mix the mashed potatoes with a bit of milk, wasabi and salt. Meanwhile, roast the red beet drizzled with some olive oil in some aluminium foil in the oven. It takes about an hour, depending on the size of the beet. When it is cooked throughout, let it cool down, peel it and the slice it thinly. Prepare the white carrot chips just the same way you would make potatoes chips :-)

For the tuna steak, pat it dry in a kitchen towel and then season it with salt, pepper and then coat both sides of the tuna with white and black sesame seeds.

Heat non-stick skillet to high and add some sunflower oil to the pan. When the pan is hot place the tuna stake in it and sear it for 1 – 2 minutes on each side. 
ATTENTION: DO NOT OVER COOK THE TUNA !!!  otherwise it becomes chewey and it looses its amazing taste. 
One thought on “Trips

Leave a Reply

