Baking madness

 

I am in baking mode, if I have few hours in my hands I start cooking. I am kind of going bananas…..or nuts. Same idea, one great tasty result- BANANA BREAD.

I love the banana bread, especially for breakfast, with a wee bit of chocolate on top of it. Well, I like to add some chocolate inside of it too, but there is no such thing as too much chocolate.

banana bread (adapted from Jamie Oliver)

115 grams walnuts 

245 grams flour

150 grams sugar

1 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

2  eggs

113 grams butter

3 ripe large bananas

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 180 degrees C.

In a large bowl combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nuts.On a separate bowl combine the mashed bananas, eggs, melted butter, and vanilla. With a rubber spatula lightly fold the wet ingredients (banana mixture) into the dry ingredients just until combined . (The important thing is not to over mix the batter. You do not want it smooth. Over mixing the batter will yield tough, rubbery bread – Jamie says) Pour the batter into a pan lined with baking paper. Bake until bread is golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 55 to 60 minutes. Place on a wire rack to cool and then remove the bread from the pan.

14 thoughts on “Baking madness

  1. That is a gorgeous looking banana bread. This is my first visit to your blog and I’ve spent some time exploring your earlier posts. I really like the food and recipes you feature here. I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  2. I really want to make this, but it says to combine cinnamon in the directions but it’s not listed in the ingredient list. How much cinnamon? Thanks!

    • Hi Ashley,
      sorry for the misunderstanding, I skipped the cinnamon in my banana bread, that’s why I forgot to add it in the ingredients list. Jamie Oliver’s original recipe uses one teaspoon of cinnamon, but I can guarantee that skipping it will give great results. Let me know how the bread turned out, hope you will love it as much as we do.

  3. Wow! This bread looks absolutely amazing and the photos are really funny! :)) I love Jamie O. so I will be making this recipe soon! Greetings from Croatia! :)

    • Hi Elizabeth,
      It took about 3-4 (very warm) days to get the bananas to ripen. You could also get them to ripen faster by freezing them or by placing them on a countertop next to an apple. Apparently the apples emit ethylene gases that make bananas ripen faster.

  4. Hello Emilia,

    Compliments on the wonderful blog! The food looks incredibly yummy :) I should try the banana bread or chocolate cake at least once – never enough chocolate, you’re right! Can’t wait for the next recipe.

    • Hello I like boys who wear glasses,
      thanks for the compliments! Let me know how the banana bread or the chocolate cake turned out.
      And good luck in the dating jungle, hope you will find prince charming soon :-).

  5. Pingback: Walnut Banana Bread

  6. Pingback: Banana Bread, the ultimate comfort food / Banana bread, cibo coccola per eccellenza | rise of the sourdough preacher

  7. Pingback: Banana Bread, the ultimate comfort food / Banana bread, cibo coccola per eccellenza | rise of the sourdough preacher

Leave a Reply

