Happy Mother’s Day!!!!

Mother’s Day – there are so many different days when people across the globe celebrate mother’s day. If you ask me  we should celebrate mother’s day every single day. I love my mommy (well, I am an adult now and I should snap out of the mommy stage, but no matter what, I know I will always be her little girl),  but sometimes I forget to tell her that or to be nice to her. 

A while ago, I’ve been asked to cook something special for Mother’s day, so my next three posts will be inspired by things that remind me of mum.

The first dish – the appetizer, the amuse bouche, the entrée – the little thing that incites your taste buds, that make them tingle with pleasure and ask for more food, is one of my mum’s best dishes ever – liver pate. I am the biggest sucker for liver pate, I know a lot of people hate it, but since I was a kid I loved to eat it – like a lot. I would normally eat a few centimeters thick pate slice with a transparent slice of bread.

The recipe is pretty simple, quite healthy and very, very tasty.

chicken liver pate

450 grams chicken liver

3 tablespoons olive oil

2 onions

3 garlic cloves

2 tablespoons cognac or port (less if you want to feed kids as well)

thyme

2 bay leaves

100 grams butter (you can reduce the quantity a bit, if you want to reduce the calories :-) )

1 teaspoon fresh coarsely ground pepper

salt

In a large pan saute the onion in 3 tablespoons of olive oil, add the garlic and the thyme once the onion starts to soften. Add the cognac or port wine once the onions are done. Set aside.

Meanwhile,  boil the chicken in water with the bay leaves, salt and pepper. When the liver is soft and cooked through, drain it and add it to the onion mixture. Cook for few more minutes, until the liver infuses with the onion/cognac/thyme aromas.

Pour the mixture in a blender, add the butter and mix it throughly until you get a smooth, silky paste. Place the liver paste in serving bowl and pour some melted butter on top of it. Place it in the fridge. The butter prevents any oxidation of the liver paste (I hate that part – when the liver turns dark).

Serve with cranberry jam, olives (Kalamata – my favourite ones), fresh paprika, tomatoes or whatever other combinations you like .

6 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day!!!!

  1. That pate looks fantastic… Your presentation and photography are brilliant! :) I especially love the second photograph… I love pate but I am the only one in my home who does… Btw, I have a very similar serving bowl. It is so cute! :) Lovely post and I look forward to the rest!

    • Hi Jen,
      funny how we love some food simply because our parents passed it onto us. I have an entire mom’s favorite food list that I love too. If you try the recipe, let me know how it turned out.

      • I haven’t tried it yet, but I’ll definitely let you know how it goes when I do. Might have to wait til I’ll see my mom. xx

  2. This looks divine. Making it tomorrow, but I’m serving it to people with dairy allergies. Can I add more olive oil in lieu of butter? Is there a better substitute?

  3. Pingback: Silence of the Lambs & gruesome grub | Film and food

Leave a Reply

