Lentil soup, soup aux lentilles, fakes, supa de linte, linzensoep – different names, one delicious soup

I have to admit, I am addicted to lentil soup, I love it. I make it almost every week nowdays. The little wonder in the pod it is supposed to be very healthy, but I guess my addiction is not necessarly related to that but rather to its deliciousness. It is hearty, flavourfull, filling, nutricious… well, I will stop here my ode to lentil soup and I will proceed with the recipe. My favourite is its greek/mediteranean version and it goes like this :

Ingredients:

300 gr brown lentils (the smaller the better)

3-4 tablespoons olive oil

1 red onion

3-4 garlic cloves

4 bay leaves

half carrot

half red paprika

3-4 chopped tomatoes or 300-400 ml canned tomatoes

 3 tablespoons oregano

salt, peper

Start by heating the olive oil in a large soup pot. Add the chopped onion and saute for few minutes, until it becomes golden. Add the chopped carrots and paprika and saute for few more minutes until the soften and then add the garlic. After 3 minutes add the washed lentils. I usually let them cook for 3-4 minutes until the cook slightly and then I add 2 cups of water, the bay leaves, the salt, the peper and the oregano. Let everything boil until the lentils soften a bit. Add the tomatoes, bring the soup to a boil, reduce the heat to low and cover and simmer until the lentils are tender, roughly 30- 40 minutes. Add more water to achieve your desired consistency, if necessary.

Serve with Kalamata olives, finelly chopped red onion, oregano and few drops of balsamic vinegar or even better with marinated octopus salad.

2 thoughts on “Lentil soup, soup aux lentilles, fakes, supa de linte, linzensoep – different names, one delicious soup

Leave a Reply

