Cauliflower soup – getting ready for the cold days

At the market, last weekend, I was looking for some veggies to make some soup. In the summer, I like the soups where you can still detect the original ingredients, the types of soups that we have in South-Eastern Europe, however autumn time is a different story. Then, I really love a hearty, creamy, rich soup. 

And this time the cauliflower draw my attention…together with some celeriac since was laying all alone next to the cauliflower. Since both are very earthy, thought they will marry perfectly in a soup. To bring in some extra flavour, I just added some watercress and crispy bacon on top.

cauliflower and celeriac soup with crispy bacon and watercress

2 tablespoons olive oil

one large onion or 2 shallots

3 garlic cloves

thyme, salt, pepper, nutmeg

3 cups vegetable broth

1 head of cauliflower

1/2 celeriac root

watercress

few slices of bacon

 

Heat the olive oil in a large pan over medium heat. Add the chopped onion and cook until softened. Add chopped garlic and the thyme, cook until the garlic softens, add the cauliflower florets and the cubed celeriac. Sautee them and the add the broth, season with salt, pepper and nutmeg. Cover the pot and bring to
a boil.  Lower the heat to a simmer, keep covered, and let cook until the cauliflower and the celeriac are tender. 

Puree with an immersion blender. Serve warm topped with crispy bacon, watercress or shredded cheese.

8 thoughts on “Cauliflower soup – getting ready for the cold days

  1. Oeh! Yumyum!!

    I think this one calls for a definite testdrive. So simple, yet delicious 🙂 BTW, do you think I could also substitute the celeriac with another root like parsnip? I love my root veggies, especially parsnip… – so just wondering 🙂

    Keep up the cooking! And invite me for a tasting session once 😉

    • Hi Suze,
      let me know how the soup turned out. I think you could substitute the celeriac for parsnip, as it is also an earthy veggie, without a very strong flavour. You are always welcome for tasting sessions, we have to schedule one soon :*

Leave a comment