Cupcake Mania – Pistachio cupcakes a la Martha Stewart


Few weeks ago I made Magnolia Bakery’s cupcakes. It was one of the first times I made cupcakes, and before this I never got the cupcake frenzy…but boy was I wrong. Once you pop, you can not stop just like Mr. Pringle.This is my second cupcake episode and if this madness will continue much longer, you will get a large variety of cupcakes recipes and my blog will be flooded by little delicious cupcakes, while my hips will grow larger and larger :-). As I love pistachios, I looked for a good pistachio cupcake recipe and I came across Martha Stewart’s recipe for Pistachio cupcakes with raspberries. Since I am not a huge fan of bakes raspberries I replaced them for chocolate, which was in my opinion a good option. Pistachios and chocolate go together really well, so well, than only few of the 18 cupcakes are left after only a day since the baking event. pistachio cupcakes with chocolate chips

Yields 15 – 18 cupcakes

1 cup whole unsalted pistachios, plus 1/4 cup slivered or chopped

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 pinch of salt

4 ounces butter

vanilla

4 large eggs

1 cup flour

100 grams chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line standard muffin tins with paper liners. Process whole pistachios, sugar, and salt in a food processor until finely ground. Add butter, vanilla, and eggs, and process until smooth. Add flour, and pulse until just combined. Mix the chocolate chips into the batter.

Divide batter among muffin cups, filling each halfway. Sprinkle with slivered or chopped pistachios. Bake until firm and pulling away from liners, about 30 minutes. Let cool in tins on wire racks. When the cupcakes cooled down frost them with your favourite buttercream or mousse (vanilla and chocolate in my case).